Skip to Main Content




The patrol deputies general responsibilities shall at all times to preserve the public peace, prevent crime, detect and arrest violators of the law, protect life and property and enforce all criminal laws of the State of Arkansas. Sometimes the laws may not be favored by the public but the officers have taken an oath to uphold the constitution and the laws. They take the initial call and report to the Sheriff and staff. Deputies also serve civil process paper work, and also serve as Bailiff's for all Newton County Court's.   

NC3 - Deputy Anthony Kent         NC4 - Deputy Adam Sirmons             

NC5 - Deputy JD Harper               NC6 - Deputy Barney Heft

NC8 - Deputy Gary Waters           NC11 - Deputy Steve Harper




Part Time Deputies

Newton County Sheriff's Office has four certified part-time deputies.



NC15 - Deputy Bryan Wheeler. 

NC16 - Deputy Nate Allen.  Deputy Nate Allen is assigned to Western Grove as a metro unit. The city of Western Grove pays the salary for this Deputy. 

NC17 - Deputy Aaron Carter.


NC18 - Deputy Josiah Smith.


Reserve Deputies 

 The Sheriff's Office has a reserve division that assists the department. These individuals have volunteered their time to help in the safety of Newton County. They have received a minimum of 110 hours of training.


Newton County currently has 16 Reserve Deputies. 




Press Releases